Testimonials, Themba TutorsCornerstone Protection

836 Euclid Avenue Suite 16, Lexington

5.0 37 reviews

  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Larry Barton ★★★★★ a month ago
    Amazing assistance provided by Shannon today on my security system. I’m so grateful for your prompt, efficient, professional, and courteous service. Put me down as a customer for life!
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Megan Haller ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    One of the most painless experiences I've had. They came on time and was over the moon professional with still keeping a level of personability to it. The gentleman also went out of his way to say that my husband and Mines business … More was appreciated. Which is actually rare to be appreciated by such a great company. So thank you and we look forward to continuing services with this company.
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Megan Magsam ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    I am so happy we decided to go with cornerstone. They were quick and efficient. Shannon and the installer we very friendly. We got a lot of equipment and it was still within our budget. 10/10 would definitely recommend! Thank you
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Collins Youngblood ★★★★★ 2 weeks ago
    Love the customer service and Shanon and his team go above and beyond for my restaurant. Couldn't of asked for a better security system and level of service that his team provides.
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors kanu patel ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    I have been using Cornerstone Protection service for over 5 years and I'm really happy with the service and state-of-the-art equipments and it's futures are so much in advance and friendly, I highly recommend Cornerstone Protection … More Service any and all business that need a security protection days and nights specially after business hours(Cornerstone Protection is perfect solution for your business). Owner of Cornerstone Protection is proactive with their customers and their equipments. Good experienced with Cornerstone Protection!!!
    Kanu Patel
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Liz Jones ★★★★ 8 months ago
    We had a very positive experience with Alissa as a tutor for our pod of 5th grade boys from January - June 2020. She cared a lot about the boys and worked hard to create meaningful activities for them. The pod experience was invaluable … More for all of our families during a difficult year and we were so grateful to have found this partnership! We also want to appreciate Craig for helping to match us with a tutor on very short notice after we had cycled through a few folks who were not able to see the commitment through. Thanks for sticking with us!
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors S CL ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    Dusty was the exact person we needed to help our child finish out the school year. So grateful to him for the way he steadily encouraged her and helped her stay on track and organized. He is flexible, responsive to our needs/schedule as … More a family, and a delight to be with. We are also thankful that Craig at Themba Tutors really "gets it" and partnered us with such a wonderful tutor who was a great fit for our girl.
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Nicole May ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    My child worked with Gillian D virtually for math enrichment. She is an excellent teacher. She took time to understand my child's specific learning style and provided tools that would be engaging. She was kind and empathetic- really … More made it her goal to connect with my child and build trust and rapport. My child started the school year with confidence and without the typically "brain-drain" that occurs over the summer, thanks to Gillian.
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Gillian Davidoff ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    I am going into my second year as a Themba tutor. I have met so many great individuals while working for this company. Craig and the rest of the Themba team do such an excellent job picking and choosing Themba tutors that suit each client's … More individual needs! I look forward to meeting new tutors and clients in the 2021-2022 school year!
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors carolina luttmann ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    Our son started in a new high school, 100% remote, and was really struggling with Latin and Physics. I found Themba Tudors online and had an initial call with Craig, who was very knowledgeable, responsive, and found 2 amazing tutors for … More us. Both the Latin and the physics tutors were fantastic, connected with my son really well and helped him go from 'failing' grade to 'honors'! I will for sure continue using (and recommending!) Themba Tutors. Thank you, C, K, and W!
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Eric Fingerman ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    Brian is a fantastic executive functioning coach. Super helpful, flexible with hours, and tailored the experience to our needs.
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Susan Wong ★★★★★ a year ago
    Giulia Mercuri is a great Italian tutor! She was very responsive and accessible. Giulia put a ton of effort into preparing for each session and really helped our son with test preparation and projects. We are grateful that she was able … More to help, especially since our son did not receive any live teaching during COVID. We are happy that she was referred to us!
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Christine Gennetti ★★★★★ a year ago
    As an adult student diagnosed with a learning disability during grad school, I knew I needed help dealing with my Master's program's demanding workload. I was seriously considering dropping out when I was referred to Themba Tutors. … More I was paired up with a wonderful tutor, Julie, who was a total lifesaver. I learned many techniques that I can utilize in the future as I embark on the next phase of my career.
    I can wholeheartedly say after working with Themba for two years that I would not have finished my program without this organization. And I am so thankful I selected them.
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Fabiola FITZPATRICK ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    We were introduced to a wonderful tutor: Mcedwyn. He and our son, a freshman in college, worked well together. As a result, our son’s grades significantly improved. The tutor taught our son subject content and various methods to effectively … More study for quizzes and exams. Our son was also taught time management and organization. My son’s experience with the tutor made the first year of college a less intimidating experience.
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Jude Eugene ★★★★★ a year ago
    We have been with our tutor, Cailin Schiller, for two years, from 5th - 7th grade. She started as an executive functioning tutor with my daughter. From the start, she demonstrated a depth of expertise and a selective use of techniques skillfully … More adapted to my daughter’s ADHD and Math disability. Cailin made Math accessible and understandable to her in a way that even her teachers had not been able to do. She differentiated reading, writing and math tasks and assignments to tailor them to my daughter’s unique learning differences. Not only did it have an effect on her grades and her work efficiency, but she finally could do her work with less anxiety. Even my daughter’s teachers used Cailin’s guidance to modify their work with her. But most importantly, she became my daughter’s favorite resource. I can’t say how invaluable Cailin has been to my daughter’s progress and well-being. I’d recommend her a million times over. She is a gem.
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Janice Eidus ★★★★★ a year ago
    Victoria is a superb tutor. She helped my high school age daughter with her writing. Victoria's skills as a tutor, as well as her sense of humor and her engaging personality went a long way with my daughter.
  • A Google User ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    I'm so glad we were referred to Themba Tutors. After a great initial conversation to learn our needs, we were connected with an excellent tutor, Felicia, who is helping our high school daughter learn better organizational and executive … More skills. Highly recommended.
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Fara Jones ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Themba Tutors provided a leaning specialist that was a perfect fit for my daughter. I told them what we were looking for and they delivered. Our tutor is responsive and flexible and makes it easy for my daughter to reach out to her own … More her own, which gives her an added sense of responsibility over her learning. As a therapist myself, I now regularly recommend Themba to my patients. A much needed and well provided service to the community!!
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Frances Simpson ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    The tutors at Themba are fantastic! Caitlyn McNeill helped our son academically, but also with getting organized in every subject, which he so desperately needed. She offered great advice and useful strategies that helped our son become … More a more successful student. We are using Themba tutors again this year for our daughter. We're so happy to have been referred to them!
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Mary Jean Babic ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    I'm so glad we were referred to Themba Tutors. After a great initial conversation to learn our needs, we were connected with an excellent tutor, Felicia, who is helping our high school daughter learn better organizational and executive … More skills. Highly recommended.
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Nina Herman ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    We had a wonderful experience with our tutor Micaela. She helped our son not only academically but at every level. We will be forever grateful to have her in our lives.
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Frances ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    The tutors at Themba are fantastic! Caitlyn McNeill helped our son academically, but also with getting organized in every subject, which he so desperately needed. She offered great advice and useful strategies that helped our son become … More a more successful student. We are using Themba tutors again this year for our daughter. We're so happy to have been referred to them!
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Michael Birnbaum ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Paul Smith at Themba has been an exceptional tutor for my son, both in terms of teaching the subject matter and teaching how best to approach the process of learning math and executing assignments. We feel very fortunate to be working with … More Paul.
  • Testimonials, Themba Tutors Monica Alzate ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    We were very lucky to have found Edwouine Swift, my son's therapist through Themba Tutors. Thomas is 12 years old, and it is extremely difficult to get him to write. Edwouine just works her magic with him, he adores her and is so … More eager to follow her guidance. I have no doubt she will be a positive driving force in his academic future.

Testimonials, Themba Tutors
Testimonials, Themba Tutors

TESTIMONIALS

TESTIMONIALS

My son got to a point in his writing where he just hit a wall with brainstorming. He needed some extra 1:1 time outside of school with someone who could handle the executive functions aspect, the anxiety piece, the extra time/silence my son sometimes needed, and the warmth and creativity that is his native space. Jake was beyond perfect. I just couldn’t have dreamt up a better fit. In addition, he documented his process, what was working with my son, so that I have a collection of emails to look back on when I need reminding about how to help my son when he’s feeling stuck – which is now very seldom. If I had five thumbs, they’d all be up. So I’ll just say, 5 stars! Thank you, Jakek and thank you, Themba Tutors. (By the way, this was affordable, to boot.)

 

-Micaela B.     

Themba did a good job matching my daughter with the tutor best able to meet her needs.  Alissa was very good at reframing our daughter’s assignments so that they felt possible instead of overwhelming. She also helped us change our approach so that we provided useful support instead of unhelpful pressure. Her role as a liaison between the school, the student, and the home was invaluable. In the end, our daughter went from failing several classes to getting mostly A-‘s -and most importantly-feeling like she had the self-confidence to carry on independently. We will definitely keep in touch with Alissa. She is fabulous!

 

-Rachel S.     

Our son started in a new high school, 100% remote, and was really struggling with Latin and Physics. I found Themba Tudors online and had an initial call with Craig, who was very knowledgeable, responsive, and found 2 amazing tutors for us. Both the Latin and the physics tutors were fantastic, connected with my son really well and helped him go from ‘failing’ grade to ‘honors’! I will for sure continue using (and recommending!) Themba Tutors. Thank you, C, K, and W!

 

-Carolina L.     

We’ve been so happy to have Themba’s wonderful tutor, Jill, working with our daughter on her reading and spelling, helping her become more efficient and recognize and remember spelling rules. Jill’s warmth and attentiveness have made it possible for my daughter to connect with her despite the fact that these sessions have been entirely virtual. I get copies of the spelling rules so I can reinforce them at home, as well as some interactive tools to help my daughter build on what she’s been learning. Themba has helped us a ton!

 

-L.C.    

I want to say THANK YOU.  Claire has really enjoyed and felt comfortable with your tutoring sessions.  But also—-the RESULTS!  She got an 84 on her Development Psychology final, up from 55 and 65 scores from previous exams.  She (and I) are extremely pleased and feeling good about this!

 

-Elizabeth H.  

Khalilah has been a fantastic science and executive functioning tutor for my daughter. She was quickly able to assess the best and most effective methods for teaching. She is also high energy and extremely dedicated to making the most out of her sessions. Highly recommend!

 

 

-Meredith J.     

We are delighted by Chris’s work with M! He has done a great job of helping him focus and prioritize, and offering up strategies to cope with difficult/challenging academic situations. He is also a lovely guy. He and M have forged an authentic bond, and M actually enjoys their sessions. Big thumbs up!

 

-S & D    

Dusty was the exact person we needed to help our child finish out the school year. So grateful to him for the way he steadily encouraged her and helped her stay on track and organized. He is flexible, responsive to our needs/schedule as a family, and a delight to be with. We are also thankful that Craig at Themba Tutors really “gets it” and partnered us with such a wonderful tutor who was a great fit for our girl.

 

-S CL     

Chris has been wonderful working with U on math for the past few months, she adores him!

 

-Z.K.    

Stephen was an amazing tutor to my bristly middle schooler! He helped with his writing and application process for high school and was a wonderful influence on him. We are so grateful for his help and would highly recommend him!

 

-Erica W.    

We were very pleased with Samara tutoring service. Lindsay said she really enjoyed working with Samara. Lindsay finished her math class with a B, which is a great tribute to the support and guidance that Samara provided. Lindsay has completed her math requirement and she will graduate this weekend.

We would definitely recommend Samara, especially for any student struggling with math anxiety and/or dyscalculia. Thanks to Samara and you for your help!

 

-Anthony Gould  

I am going into my second year as a Themba tutor. I have met so many great individuals while working for this company. Craig and the rest of the Themba team do such an excellent job picking and choosing Themba tutors that suit each client’s individual needs! I look forward to meeting new tutors and clients in the 2021-2022 school year!

 

 

-Gillian D.     

I had an amazing and very helpful experience working with Rebecca and building strategies that are tailored to my needs. I would absolutely work with her again, and would emphatically recommend her to other adults.

 

-K.S.     

I own a tutoring / educational consulting company myself.. I called to ask for help with my daughter who has sensory, adhd related issues. The woman on the phone was very honest with me and really guided me in the right direction. Most of the other companies I had called didn’t seem to understand what “multisensory” learning style means which is fine, but I’m assuming they wouldn’t understand my daughter’ learning needs. I wound up getting better services through my daughter’s school, but I’d recommend Themba to any parent with a child with special education needs.

 

-Park Slope Tutoring LLC

Brian is a fantastic executive functioning coach. Super helpful, flexible with hours, and tailored the experience to our needs.

 

-Eric Fingerman     

My child worked with Gillian D virtually for math enrichment. She is an excellent teacher. She took time to understand my child’s specific learning style and provided tools that would be engaging. She was kind and empathetic- really made it her goal to connect with my child and build trust and rapport. My child started the school year with confidence and without the typically “brain-drain” that occurs over the summer, thanks to Gillian.

 

-Nicole May     

I was referred to Themba Tutors to help my daughter strengthen her executive functioning skills. Craig was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. He provided us with a few different tutors to meet in order to find the right fit. We’ve been working with McEdwin “Mackie” he’s been wonderful. My daughter has worked with several tutors over the past 5 years and Mackie is the first tutor she happily meets with. This is a huge win!.

 

-Kristin S.     

Highly recommend this amazing tutoring service. I interviewed several tutors before finding Themba via a recommendation from our son’s therapist. Craig was so professional and thorough that I was impressed from the moment we first spoke. We are so grateful to have had Alissa’s support this year and could not be happier. She went above and beyond to help Ethan (and us!) navigate through 8th grade, high school admissions, etc. Alissa’s support was a game-changer for our son and we hope to have her assistance next year!

-Talia Shaull   

We are parents of a bright college age son who, despite his intelligence, has struggled academically because of ADHD and executive functioning challenges. After a very difficult first three semesters at college, which deeply affected his confidence and self esteem, our son left school and for years was too discouraged to return, fearful of more failure. We reached out to Themba Tutors to recommend someone who could give him the support and encouragement he needed to return to school, and was referred to Jordan W. We could not have been happier with that referral. We had no idea whether our son would be willing to work with him, but Jordan’s warm and engaging nature won him over. With Jordan’s support, guidance and encouragement, our son went back to college! He is still a work in progress and has many challenges ahead, but we are, and will always be, grateful for Jordan’s kind and caring nature, intelligence and extraordinary patience in helping our son move forward. Thank you Jordan and thank you Themba Tutors.

-Guy     

Alex is awesome with both of my sons! He is wonderful and caring. Alex has been extremely successful in teaching my sons for how to approach studying and making them much more efficient, successful and, most importantly,  more confident with their abilities! Thank you for your wonderful services!!!

 

-Carmen Seleme McDermott     

Armelle was wonderful. Not just a great match for Simon but also so thorough and thoughtful. We hope to work with her again next year.

 

-Missy Brown

I’m listening to the Earth Science tutoring session from a distance and wow she is impressive!!! We have been thru so many tutors (more for math over the years). They’ve worked but Charlie gets so bored. She is so engaged with Khalilah! She really knows how to connect with Charlie and quickly figure out what she needs to learn. Thanks Craig!

 

-M.L.     

Themba Tutors was recommended to us by a therapist I used to evaluate my daughter, a 7th grader in a public school in Manhattan, for possible learning disabilities related to math. She needed help with strategies for completing homework and keeping skills up to date, and also some remedial work to get her where she should be especially with the challenging Common Core curriculum. My daughter had used a few tutors in the past, but none of them were as effective as Matt. Matt has a very kind way about him and his genuine concern for my daughter s progress was apparent. He was able to focus her attention on the full sessions without her feeling stressed or overwhelmed. He adjusted the agenda to accommodate problem areas that arose and to address extra last-minute material that needed to be reviewed for upcoming tests. Her final report card reflected a 90 for the school year we couldn’t have been more thrilled! Matt has a real gift for teaching that significantly contributed to her getting on track. Thank you for recommending Matt!

 

-Mary Rose       

FANTASTIC!
Alissa has been wonderful for Jack and we really hope to continue!Thank you for all!

 

-Parent

Dr. Netta is a lovely, extremely reliable, professional, approachable, attentive, and very caring professional. Our daughter had different organizational needs than a typical high school student so Netta was open to communications with me as the three of us planned a course of action. The fact that Dr. Netta is also trained as a psychologist was extremely valuable. Our daughter always enjoyed her executive functioning sessions with Netta and looked forward to it weekly. We were very happy with Netta’s coaching services and highly recommend her!

 

-C.P., Mother     

Jordan tutored our son in 7th grade math. We had a wonderful experience with Jordan. He was knowledgeable, always on time, and came up with some good strategies for our son to tackle difficult math concepts. Our son has a nonverbal learning disability so working with him can be somewhat challenging at times. But Jordan was always up to the task!

 

-Anne S.   

I want to thank you for the wonderful math tutoring you did with V! We really can see the changes in her self-confidence. It has been encouraging to see her improving her math grades. She is a big fan of yours, as are we. Because of the way LaGuardia HS is structuring classes for the year, V’s math class has now ended. Regardless, we will want Gillian to tutor V again when math officially starts up again in the fall.

 

-J.G.       

Lillian is amazing and is, no doubt, a large factor in the colleges Ben has been accepted to.  She has changed his whole orientation towards his academics.  

 

-Pam Cobrin    

Dr. Tamara provided great support to my 11 year old son with ADHD. She worked with him on morning and evening routines. She was professional and relatable and he bonded with her, allowing her to use their relationship to teach him “en vivo” as well as additional tools to help my son work through some socialization issues. He learned a lot and has benefited from her support. We may reach out at a next developmental stage if needed and hope she is available, but trust that Craig would find another good fit for our child if not. Craig listened carefully at intake, asking the right questions and later checked in to ensure things were going alright. A positive experience, highly recommend Themba Tutors.

-Jules B  

The end of the year went really well, Qi has been so helpful to us. She is so knowledgeable and professional, can’t believe our luck in being matched with her!

-R.H. 

Amil did really well with Dusty. We found that Dusty’s guidance really helped him turn work in on time, and all his teachers noted that in his last evaluation. Thank you again for all your help!

-Jad A.  

Jacob has been such an integral part of Maya’s success with improving her organization and executive functioning. He partnered with us when Maya was just diagnosed with ADHD in 7th grade. Jacob gave us the support Maya needed through middle school and the application process for high school. Jacob is was very patient, creative, and encouraging to Maya. Without his help, we would have had a much more difficult road ahead of us. Maya is now transitioning to high school in person as a freshman.

-Melissa S.   

We could not be happier with Lynsey. She’s wonderful with both of my children and has been a great help with their learning and organizational skills.

-Carmen Cobiella  

I worked with THEMBA tutor Brooke for the past 6 months and have found our work together to be extremely beneficial. Brooke helped me to organize my time and thoughts regarding looking for jobs by introducing new methods for planning my time. Brooke provided encouragement when I had doubts about my work. Brooke did not do my work for me, which was really important for me. Brooke is understanding ,patient and flexible with scheduling. I highly recommend Brooke.

-Friend NYC  

I own a tutoring / educational consulting company myself.. I called to ask for help with my daughter who has sensory, adhd related issues. The woman on the phone was very honest with me and really guided me in the right direction. Most of the other companies I had called didn t seem to understand what multisensory learning style means which is fine, but I m assuming they wouldn t understand my daughter learning needs. I wound up getting better services through my daughter s school, but I d recommend Themba to any parent with a child with special education needs.

 

-Michelle       

This company is great in finding awesome learning specialists who work with kids of all ages and use multisensory techniques to help break down abstract concepts. My child needs help with math and they were able to supply my child with a top-notch math tutor who was able to really help my son improve. Not only is it hard to find qualified math learning specialists who work well with school aged children, but they come to your home, which is a real godsend.

 

-Mr. K. Kim       

Alissa has been amazing with my 12 year old Dyslexic daughter! Craig, the owner, picked the perfect teacher for my daughter! They meet once a week through zoom. It’s so easy for us, and just as effective as in person learning. Alissa is a highly skilled educator that has a keen understanding of child development and the science of how children learn. But most importantly, she’s fun!! She infuses each session with humor and topics that interest my daughter. I can hear their laughter through the door every time they meet. Alissa’s passion for educating shines bright.


Alissa has also been instrumental in helping me understand my child’s strengths and areas that require support. She has served as a sounding board and helped me navigate the challenges of an education system that is not set up for neurodiverse individuals. My husband and I are grateful to her. She has our full endorsement!

-Kelly D. 

Jacob is a great tutor who worked with my son over the course of two years providing much-needed guidance on his executive functioning and organizational skills and overcoming a variety of challenges posed by my son’s learning disabilities. His patience in learning about my son’s disabilities provided him with insight into developing the best strategies possible to overcome my son’s multifaceted obstacles. He built up a great rapport with my son and I would recommend him highly to other parents seeking specialized tutoring services.

 

-JB & AK       

Alissa was really wonderful and we hope to work with her again in the fall. Our daughter loved her and their work together really helped turn around our daughter’s performance in Algebra.

 

-Kate & Andrew      

It’s been great to be out of T’s organization! He got all As the last quarter!

 

-R.M.     

We had a great experience with Alissa, she kept them learning and motivated in a really terrible year.

She did a nice job communicating feedback with us as well as being in contact with the teachers to make sure they were in sync.

I am so thankful it worked out and that we got connected. 

 

-Jana Z      

I have had the best experiences with Rebecca, and Felicia. They have both worked with me to achieve my goal, and help me prep for a major licensing exam. They are patient. knowledgeable, and accommodating They are invested in helping everyone that they work with achieve their goals. The best investment I put on myself in a long time.

 

-Veronica J.    

Dusty has been amazing with Eleanor and our family throughout the entire year. We felt that Dusty was an invested and true advocate with Eleanor when navigating school assignments and expectations!

 

-Monica Hampton   

I’ve had many tutors come thru my door over the years and feel there is something very special and extra professional about the tutors from Themba. They all understood my son s needs and had an amazing way of working with him. Kadyn tutored my son last year and I feel she contributed to his growth in all areas of learning. Her level of education was high and she had a very kind and calming personality that made it easy for my son to connect with her. I asked him what he thought of Kadyn. He said she helped me read articles, pull out information, organize my thoughts and put my ideas on paper. It made me feel more successful as a student.

 

-S.F.       

FANTASTIC!
Alissa has been wonderful for Jack and we really hope to continue! Thank you for all!

 

-J.R.     

My son who has dyslexia enjoyed working with Jeffrey on his math skills so much that he didn’t want to stop at the end of sessions. Jeffrey connected to my son. He was gentle with his teaching approach and helped to build his self-esteem and confidence.

 

-Anonymous       

My son was tutored for the ACT by Jake. Jake was able to find the most efficient way of getting the work done. What impressed me most was the interest he took in lowering the test anxiety, making the test if possible more enjoyable. He was able to take on the issue of test anxiety and it worked!

 

-L. Edelstein       

My son, a junior in a private high school worked, with a wonderful tutor from Themba to get ready for his SATs. I spoke with Blythe and she asked detailed questions about my sons strengths and weaknesses. She put me in touch with Don, who worked beautifully with my son. Don immediately understood where my son needed help and focused their time together on specific areas of need. He also recognized my sons strengths ( math )and was able to accelerate his understanding in those areas. My sons score jumped 190 points! The individualized instruction he got from Themba and Don was amazing! I highly recommend these wonderful people.

 

-Marie W.       

Matt tutored my son for the SAT & ACT this fall We liked his positive approach to help learn the necessary testing skills. He is friendly, thoughtful and points out strengths while emphasizing areas that need extra work. Thank you for sending him to us!

 

-Colleen Donohue       

Sadie was resistant at first but Sophia won her over. After she left, Sadie said she was great and “clearly really knows what she’s talking about.” Yay!

 

-Parent      

I have currently secured two excellent Themba Tutors for my son, a junior in a NYC High School. My son really enjoys working with these tutors, Matt and Anthony. He finds their methods clear and inspiring. Matt works with my son on college entrance test preparation (ACT and SAT), and Anthony works with my son on written expression, executive functioning and attention skills.

 

-Kristina K.       

Alissa was terrific — really went above and beyond to keep our son on track, address his needs, respond to our concerns, and help him achieve his goal of getting into Brooklyn Tech.

 

-J.B.     

Having been through the SAT/ACT tutoring process before with my older daughter, I knew we d need something less conventional, more tailor-made, for my son–someone who could adjust and meet the needs of my son s specific learning needs. My son has ADHD and easily becomes overwhelmed and anxious with regards to test-taking. After his first tutoring session with Dr. Brooke, we knew it was a “good fit . She was able to quickly develop a great working rapport with my son. She understood that he needed to be gently challenged, praised and continually encouraged to keep him from becoming overly frustrated. His original PSAT score was a 26. Dr. Brooke helped him to bring his ACT score up to a 31. We can’t thank her enough!

 

-Hilary V.       

Even though Zoe is not quite there yet with mastering her planning, she is in such a better place than when she started, thanks to the great work that she did with Qi. We are all very happy with the advice that you provided. Zoe feels much more confident and organized than in September
So much progress! Thank you very much!

-S.R.      

Themba Tutors provided a leaning specialist that was a perfect fit for my daughter. I told them what we were looking for and they delivered. Our tutor is responsive and flexible and makes it easy for my daughter to reach out to her own her own, which gives her an added sense of responsibility over her learning. As a therapist myself, I now regularly recommend Themba to my patients. A much needed and well provided service to the community!!

 

-Fara Jones

Jacob was an incredible help to our son when he tutored him in writing and reading comprehension in elementary and middle school. Jacob was patient and came up with creative, well-informed approaches. Our son connected with Jacob and benefited greatly from their sessions. Jacob also collaborated with our son’s school and often shared updates and insights with us. We are very grateful for all of Jacob’s support!

 

-J & C       

Jacob tutored our son throughout his fifth and sixth grades. For our son, this was a time of increased academic demands and heightened anxiety, which exacerbated his language processing challenges. Jacob approached our son with sensitivity, compassion, and patience – which was greatly needed during this time. In addition to his reinforcing essential academic content, Jacob provided flexible and effective study skill strategies – strategies that our son internalized and has continued to use independently! Jacob is an intelligent and knowledgable educator who knows how to individualize his approach to his students to suit their specific needs and learning styles. He willingly communicates with school personnel and teachers to ensure continuity between his tutoring and students’ classroom experiences. My son greatly benefited from this regular communication between professionals. I’d highly recommend Jacob to any child who needs individualized and extra academic support!

 

-Dana G.       

Mcedwin was a fantastic tutor. He and our son, a college freshman, worked well together, and his grades, as a result, have dramatically improved.

 

-F.F.       

My son has been working with Jeffrey for math tutoring with brilliant results. Jeffrey helped reinforce the lessons from class, helping him build confidence and perseverance. Jeffrey worked diligently to prepare for each session by making sure he was aware of what material my son was covering each week. Jeffrey would arrive for sessions with problem sheets they could work from to strengthen his skills. He was always very patient, reassuring, and encouraging. While at the same time, he pushed Oliver toward mastery of the material. In six months, my son began to see himself as a capable, successful math student.

 

-Sara Baysinger       

We were in a complete state of crisis when we contacted Sarah for help for our high school freshman son. A smart kid, he was overwhelmed in his first year of a demanding high school curriculum and had slid into a terrible situation of falling behind, not studying or completing assignments and being frozen with anxiety about it. Sarah came thoughtfully and directly to the rescue. She created an instant, goal-oriented and friendly rapport that was, most importantly, incredibly productive from the very start and taught our son to embrace preparedness and achievement as his own accomplishments. He settled down, focused and miraculously finished with great grades. I cannot say enough about how wonderful Sarah is at what she does and how grateful I am for her intervention in the academic life of our son. Anyone would be lucky to have her work with their son or daughter.

 

-Meg C.       

I thought Paul was terrific and our son did too! Paul was particularly helpful on the math section of the ACT and math in general. Paul had an amazing rapport with our son, and that made the twice weekly commitment, for tutoring, fine for our son, which is really important. We highly recommend Paul!

 

-Martha P.       

We were very impressed with Anthony’s calmness and resilience in the face of a daunting task; helping our daughter with math! He engaged her in creative and engaging ways to try and get across the challenging concepts of her homework and test prep. He really cared and made a lot of effort to work with our 11 year old.

 

-Emily R.       

My daughter, a freshman in a public high school, was struggling in math. I got in touch with Blythe at Themba, and she managed to have a wonderful math tutor come to my home the following day. She stayed much more than the required time to make sure that my daughter understood all the concepts. She also followed up with us and asked if we had any other questions that she could help with. As a parent, it is a relief to know that you can secure a tutor very quickly who comes straight to your home.
A great experience!

 

-Tiphaine M.       

Giulia is a great Italian tutor! She was very responsive and accessible. Giulia put a ton of effort into preparing for each session and really helped our son with test preparation and projects. We are grateful that she was able to help, especially since our son did not receive any live teaching during COVID. We are happy that she was referred to us!

 

-Susan W.      

As an adult student diagnosed with a learning disability during grad school,  I knew I needed help dealing with my Master’s program’s demanding workload. I was seriously considering dropping out when I was referred to Themba Tutors. I was paired up with a wonderful tutor, Julie, who was a total lifesaver. I learned many techniques that I can utilize in the future as I embark on the next phase of my career.

I can wholeheartedly say after working with Themba for two years that I would not have finished my program without this organization. And I am so thankful I selected them.

 

-Christine G.    

We were introduced to a wonderful tutor: Mcedwyn. He and our son, a  freshman in college, worked well together. As a result, our son’s grades significantly improved. The tutor taught our son subject content and various methods to effectively study for quizzes and exams. Our son was also taught time management and organization.  My son’s experience with the tutor made the first year of college a less intimidating experience.

 

-Fabiola F.  

We have been with our tutor, Cailin, for two years, from 5th – 7th grade. She started as an executive functioning tutor with my daughter. From the start, she demonstrated a depth of expertise and a selective use of techniques skillfully adapted to my daughter’s ADHD and Math disability. Cailin made Math accessible and understandable to her in a way that even her teachers had not been able to do. She differentiated reading, writing and math tasks and assignments to tailor them to my daughter’s unique learning differences. Not only did it have an effect on her grades and her work efficiency, but she finally could do her work with less anxiety. Even my daughter’s teachers used Cailin’s guidance to modify their work with her. But most importantly, she became my daughter’s favorite resource. I can’t say how invaluable Cailin has been to my daughter’s progress and well-being. I’d recommend her a million times over. She is a gem.

 

-Jude E.

Victoria is a superb tutor.  She helped my high school age daughter with her writing. Victoria’s skills as a tutor, as well as her sense of humor and her engaging personality went a long way with my daughter.

 

 

-Janice Eidus

I’m so glad we were referred to Themba Tutors. After a great initial conversation to learn our needs, we were connected with an excellent tutor, Felicia, who is helping our high school daughter learn better organizational and executive skills. Highly recommended.

– Mary Jean Babic

We had a wonderful experience with our tutor Micaela. She helped our son not only academically but at every level.  We will be forever grateful to have her in our lives.

-Nina Herman

The tutors at Themba are fantastic! Caitlyn helped our son academically, but also with getting organized in every subject, which he so desperately needed. She offered great advice and useful strategies that helped our son become a more successful student. We are using Themba tutors again this year for our daughter. We’re so happy to have been referred to them!

-Frances Simpson

Paul at Themba has been an exceptional tutor for my son, both in terms of teaching the subject matter and teaching how best to approach the process of learning math and executing assignments. We feel very fortunate to be working with Paul.

-Michael Birnbaum

We were very lucky to have found Edwouine, my son’s therapist through Themba Tutors.  Thomas is 12 years old, and it is extremely difficult to get him to write.  Edwouine just works her magic with him, he adores her and is so eager to follow her guidance.  I have no doubt she will be a positive driving force in his academic future.

-Monica Alzate

Jackie tutored my third grade son for about four months and he made great progress. Jackie is easy to work with, even days when my son was not 🙂 Highly recommend!

-Margaux Lisiak

Steffanie is a fantastic tutor! She puts so much hard work and dedication into every session, which is what lead to passing grades on my exams!  In addition, Steffanie even offered tutoring via FaceTime if we couldn’t meet in person. This is a fantastic and very convenient tutoring service and I highly recommend it!

– Eddie100

I’m so happy we were connected with Themba Tutors. Our high school daughter was struggling in a way very common to kids with ADHD. After an initial conversation to learn our needs, Themba put us in touch with a great tutor, Felicia, who has been teaching our daughter the executive and organizational skills she needs. Felicia’s been a crucial support, and we’re delighted she’s working with us.

-Mary Jean B.

My experience with Themba Tutors was awesome. When I was introduced to the service I told them my needs and based on that they set me up with a range of tutors to choose from. I chose to work with Paul who was the best tutor that I have ever worked with. I was studying for the New Jersey state teacher exam there was a number of subject areas that I had to study and one of them was math. Paul helped me understand the math on the test . He explained it to me in away that made it easy and he gave me tools to practice on my own. In addition to helping me with math skills he gave wonderful study tips and tricks to use to help me study the material that I had to learn. Paul was a pleasure to work with and O thank him for helping me pass the test

-Esther B.

Alex’s services were of great help and support to me, especially when it came to keeping my feet on the ground and giving suggested methods to further improve my college experience.

-Ashoka Z.

RATES
CONTACT

How Are We Doing?

We would love to hear about your experience with ours tutors. Your feedback allows us to continue to learn and grow. Fill out the form below to let us know your thoughts.

    SUBSCRIBE